Merman

I can never seem to get to the lighthouse.

 

No matter how hard I try, the ocean sucks me back in,

 

Like I am some toy it can play with.

 

Tide toss and turn me;

 

I can only hope that it swallows up my being.

 

Yet, you stuck out your hand,

 

Pulling me so close I can hear your heart,

 

The symphony of being alive playing.

 

You told me that the ocean can be conquered,

 

That I knew how to swim,

 

I just merely forgot.

 

But, you concluded, taking my hand,

 

If you are struggling,

 

I will help you.

 

For the lighthouse is there,

 

It’s just hard to see sometimes.

Leave a Reply

